God Save The King

RIP Queen Elizabeth II

I feel completely numb and my brain is all fuzzy. Even though I’d been expecting the news for most of yesterday afternoon, I’d been watching the BBC special viewing as soon as it started and knew I was watching Operation London Bridge/Operation Unicorn in progress. As soon as the BBC cancelled scheduling and all the on-air presenters appeared in black, I knew she had died. But even so, when Huw Edwards interrupted to bring us an important announcement, I burst into tears. I cried on and off for most of yesterday evening, cried myself to sleep last night.

A few points for clarity here
1) I’m autistic and history/the monarchy is one of my main special interests
2) I’m in the priviledged position of still having both of my parents and all four of my grandparents. I have never experienced grief like this.

Even as I mourn Her Majesty, I have to admit that this is one historical event I am also excited to be alive for. The whole pandemic, not so much. But I get to see Charles proclaimed as King and I get to see him coronated as King Charles III. Obviously I’m not going to be there and I don’t think I’ll travel across London (but I might) but to get to see a King crowned is going to be incredible.

I think I will cry on Saturday when we get that first national anthem sung as God Save the King

I’m also quite surprised that he chose Charles III. He was not expected to, because of the negative connotations of Charles I and II, and Bonnie Prince Charlie was called Charles III by some of his supporters. As far back as 2005, it was suggested that he would chose to reign as George VII in honour of his grandfather. But I suppose afer 70 years of being called Charles it would be hard to adjust to being called another name.

Long Live King Charles III and Camilla, Queen Consort

Author: Georgia

Georgia is a 30 year old lesbian living in London who loves history, mythology, chocolate, video games and reading.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started